Connect with us


Keynan back to the parliament as the longest serving MP in history as IEBC gives him the nod



NAIROBI—The Eldas parliamentary elections has come to a close after the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) released a provisional results indicating Jubilee’s Aden Keynan retained his seat against ODM’s Ahmed Boray.

Keynan ganered 7,517 while Boray scooped 6,838. UDA’s Omar Salat got 66 votes.

Speaking to Kulan Post on phone, Ahmed Boray said he is not aware of the news declaring him the winner.

“I was not issued with the certificate,” Boray confirmed to Kulan Post.

The Eldas elections gripped the national attention after the process was marred by chaos as supporters clashed on the final day of the campaigns. On the polling day, the Commission pushed the constituency polls to the 10th.

The chaos was caused by the hiring of electoral agents and was only solved with the intervention of commissioner Prof Guliye, who flew to Wajir.

“Alhamdulilah I won…These process ended three days ago,” Keynan, who won his fifth term, told Kulan Post.

On Saturday, the winners of the four wards were awarded with certificates. IEBC had earlier zoned Eldas tallying centre as a security zone, allowing the Returning Officer or a person appointed in his place to carry the remaining exercise which includes declaring the duly elected candidates.

Keynan’s latest victory makes him longest serving legislator in the next Parliament after the defeat of Kitutu Chache MP, Jimmy Angwenyi.



Your comments here:


Share it with your friends